DMX light duration

Home English DMX light duration

Blackbat 2023-12-29 13:08:52
3 voices
3 replies
  • Author
    Newcomer
    I’m new to the DMX world but have a firing system (fireTEK) capable of DMX control so thought I’d try and learn about DMX. I’ve bought a cheap DMX light and created it as a fixture in My Effects, and have added some colour light effects to the fixture, and exported a firing script with DMX information. So far so good.

If I right click on the light effect on the timeline and edit properties, I can change the duration of the effect and this is reflected in the duration column in the exported 2 line script. If instead, however, I drag the right hand end of the effect on the timeline to change the duration the resulting script is different. Instead of two lines for pins 101 and 102 with dmx values of 255, RampX 1 and the specified duration, I get four lines with dmx values of 255 at the start time for the first two lines and dmx values of 0 at the end time for the new 3rd and 4th lines. All with RampX 0 and duration 0.

I suspect that both scripts will work, but am wondering why two different looking scripts result from changing the duration in two different ways. Is this a bug?

DrewFinale
    Silver
    Hi Blackbat, it sounds like you’re taking a methodical approach to get your footing with DMX, that’s great! Assuming that the effect duration is the only thing changing, I would expect the scripts to be identical. To help troubleshoot the issue, I’m going to loop in my colleague Will, the developer on our team who handles DMX.

Will
    Newcomer