custom simulation height

Home English custom simulation height

Pyro_78890000 2022-06-17 19:12:30
4 voices
5 replies
  • Author
    Posts
  • Pyro_78890000
    Joined: Jan 2022
    Posts: 5
    Location: United States
    Newcomer
    Likes:

    what factors determine the height when you are using the custom simulator to edit an effect?

    Eric G
    Joined: Jul 2019
    Posts: 9
    Location: Green Cove Springs, Florida, United States
    Newcomer
    Likes:

    The primary variable that affects height is the diameter of the shell.  But you can modify this by using a HTM value (height in meters).

     


    Specifying the height, duration, and fan angle of effects in the cake (HTM, DUR, Degrees)

    DrewFinale
    Joined: Dec 2019
    Posts: 121
    Location: Designing Fireworks
    Charcoal
    Likes:

     

    what factors determine the height when you are using the custom simulator to edit an effect?

     

    My colleague Dustin Leary is the developer and mastermind behind the custom effect editor. Dusty, can you jump in here?

    Dustin Leary
    Joined: Oct 2018
    Posts: 4
    Location: Las Vegas
    Newcomer
    Likes:

    When you are customizing a simulation, you can create what we call a “blob” effect, as opposed to a “vdl” effect.

     

    A VDL effect has VDL text in the VDL column.  For example, “Red to Green Peony”.

    Or more complicated cake VDL, like “20 Shot Cake (a) Rising Very Long Silver Tip + (b) Glittering Gold Crown, 4 Rows, Row 1 (bbbbb/STR), Row 2 (aaaaa/BLT), Row 3 (aaaaa/BRT), Row 4 (aaaaa/VST)”

    Either way, it is more or less readable.

     

    A Blob effect shows up as “{SIM1}” in the VDL column of the effects table when the effect is not selected, and it looks like a bunch of random characters in between curly braces if you edit the actual VDL column.

    It looks something like “{1KLUv/WDpAvUIAKQJu….}”.

    It is not human-readable.

     

    When you have a VDL effect, the “height” column of the effects table is used to generate the low-level effect definition.  This will determine the height of a comet, fountain, or mine, and it will determine the break height of a shell.

     

    When you have a Blob simulation, the “height” column of the effects table is no longer used to generate the low-level effect definition.

    When you are customizing a simulation, you are effectively editing the low-level effect definition directly.

    You can put whatever value you like into the height column, but it will not change the low-level effect definition.

     

    To change the actual height of a custom simulation, look at the ‘launch’ node in the Effect Editor, and adjust the ‘height’ field there.

     

    DrewFinale
    Joined: Dec 2019
    Posts: 121
    Location: Designing Fireworks
    Charcoal
    Likes:

    Adding to Dusty’s reply, when you want to edit Visual Descriptive Language (VDL) by typing readable words, typically you right-click on an effect and select ‘Edit this effect simulation…

     

    When you want to create a custom simulation and have full control over all aspects of an effect, you right-click on the effect and select ‘Customize this effect simulation’s parameters….

     

    These are two ways to created/edit effects.

    Pyro_78890000
    Joined: Jan 2022
    Posts: 5
    Location: United States
    Newcomer
    Likes:

    Thanks for explaining. It’s been fun to  play with the blob style, but as soon as I tried to make a predictable looking product sim, based off a manufacturer’s videos, it can get overwhelming, and even though color, sound and a few other parameters were easy to see changes, height was giving me trouble, especially on mines that don’t quite launch.

Please login to reply to this topic.