Monitoring available quanity levels from show to show

Home English Monitoring available quanity levels from show to show

EhrlichFire 2022-06-01 02:17:38
2 voices
9 replies
  • Author
    Posts
  • EhrlichFire
    Joined: Feb 2020
    Posts: 13
    Location: Wellington, Colorado, United States
    Newcomer
    Likes:

    While I was at CobraCon I talked with a rep at the Finale booth who quickly showed me how I could see how many an item I had available from show to show.

    For example, I am starting with 72 Dark Salutes in “My Effects”. In “$how 1” I use 22 salutes. I am ready to move on to “Show 2”. The “Available” column still shows 72 salutes available.  I am looking for a quantity column that shows I have 50 Dark Salutes available for “Show 2”. Which Quantity value would do that?

    It would also be great if the Available quantity counted down as we used effects.

     

    I tried this in “Per Show Effects” too. In the Per Show Effects, you have to enter how many of any one effect you have for that show and then just watch as you add to not exceed that amount. But doing that is like rebuilding your inventory for every show.

     

    Is there an easier way to do this in Hobbyist?

     

    Bryan E

    Wellington, CO

     

    DrewFinale
    Joined: Dec 2019
    Posts: 513
    Location: United States
    Silver
    Likes:

    Hi Bryan, the short answer is YES! You can see your available inventory quantities count down as you design by unhiding the ‘Remaining Available’ column in the effects window. Then, when you’re done designing your show, you can go to the Effects menu and select ‘Subtract used quantities from available…’ to remove the items in your show from the available inventory. Here’s a video tutorial:

    EhrlichFire
    Joined: Feb 2020
    Posts: 13
    Location: Wellington, Colorado, United States
    Newcomer
    Likes:

    NEVERMIND… I found my misstake.

     

    Hello DrewFinale,

    I used the copy process you helped me with, but when looking at the Effects Window, the Remaining Available column does not reflect the effects that have been used in both shows. The remaining inventory starts with the same level as it did in Show 1. I understood if had 100 salutes and used 10 in Show 1, when I went to Show 2, it would list that 90 salutes are available. It still says 100 are available. Am I doing something wrong?

     

    DrewFinale
    Joined: Dec 2019
    Posts: 513
    Location: United States
    Silver
    Likes:

    Hi EhrlichFire, the ‘Available’ quantities will only change if you a) manually adjust them, or b) do ‘Effects > Subtract used quantities from available…’

    EhrlichFire
    Joined: Feb 2020
    Posts: 13
    Location: Wellington, Colorado, United States
    Newcomer
    Likes:

    HI Drew,

    I am aware of that feature. I want to use the “Quota” to provide a guideline of what I can use in each show. For Example, I have 25 Red Crossettes in Available (<0) in My Effects. I want to use no more than 8 in each of 3 shows. I unhid the Quota Column in Per show effects, But I cannot populate any quantity in that column.

    DrewFinale
    Joined: Dec 2019
    Posts: 513
    Location: United States
    Silver
    Likes:

     

    HI Drew, I am aware of that feature. I want to use the “Quota” to provide a guideline of what I can use in each show. For Example, I have 25 Red Crossettes in Available (<0) in My Effects. I want to use no more than 8 in each of 3 shows. I unhid the Quota Column in Per show effects, But I cannot populate any quantity in that column.

    https://finale3d.com/groups/english/forum/topic/using-the-quota-column/#post-2224825

    EhrlichFire
    Joined: Feb 2020
    Posts: 13
    Location: Wellington, Colorado, United States
    Newcomer
    Likes:

    So, I used the “subtract Usded quantities form available, ” which worked great. Then I started a new show and we were moving along fine. I had to stop for a day. I saved and synced with the network.

    But while I was away for about a day, my computer restarted and when I went back to look at Available quantities, they were back to the original amounts??? Why did that happen?

    DrewFinale
    Joined: Dec 2019
    Posts: 513
    Location: United States
    Silver
    Likes:

     

    So, I used the “subtract Usded quantities form available, ” which worked great. Then I started a new show and we were moving along fine. I had to stop for a day. I saved and synced with the network. But while I was away for about a day, my computer restarted and when I went back to look at Available quantities, they were back to the original amounts??? Why did that happen?

    The only way that I can see this happening is if the sync wasn’t successful. If the sync succeeded, then your Available quantities should persist regardless of whether your computer restarts or whether it’s run over by a truck.

    EhrlichFire
    Joined: Feb 2020
    Posts: 13
    Location: Wellington, Colorado, United States
    Newcomer
    Likes:

    Well, that poses the question, “how big of a truck?” 🤔🙄  Thanks Drew!

    DrewFinale
    Joined: Dec 2019
    Posts: 513
    Location: United States
    Silver
    Likes:

     

    Well, that poses the question, “how big of a truck?” 🤔🙄 Thanks Drew!

    Haha, as long as the truck isn’t so big that it also runs over servers at Amazon Web Services your Available quantities shouldn’t change.

Please login to reply to this topic.