PyroJam 2023 (official competition discussion topic)

Home English PyroJam 2023 (official competition discussion topic)

DrewFinale 2023-01-09 02:34:15
20 voices
117 replies
Viewing 20 posts - 21 through 40 (of 118 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • DrewFinale
    Joined:Dec 2019
    Posts:401
    Location:United States
    Silver
    Likes:

     

    Hi Drew, Tim,

     

    All the items below seem to be from the same family. Only the color is different.

     

    The indicated duration of the blue color is 22 seconds compared to 20 seconds for all the others.

     

    When placed in Finale3D, it really lasts 22 seconds.

     

    Is this normal ?

     

     

     

    Hey Tim Jameson, you’re the product expert, what do you think?

    Tim Jameson
    Joined:Dec 2018
    Posts:23
    Location:United States
    Newcomer
    Likes:

    ArtiDan Yes, the simulation and description is correct for that item.  The actual duration for the blue cake device is 22 seconds whereas the others all run 20 seconds.  We tried to make the simulations as accurate as possible for everyone.

     

    ArtiDan
    Joined:Oct 2022
    Posts:4
    Location:Canada
    Charcoal
    Likes:

    Great !

     

    Thank you !!

     

    🙂

    WP-FX Pyrodesign
    Joined:Jan 2020
    Posts:3
    Location:Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
    Charcoal
    Likes:

    Hi Drew and Tim,

     

    I was wondering if it is possible to enter Pyrojam with multiple displays?

    Cause i wanted to create another display together with my good friend Gabriel.

     

     

     

    DrewFinale
    Joined:Dec 2019
    Posts:401
    Location:United States
    Silver
    Likes: 1

     

    Hi Drew and Tim,

     

    I was wondering if it is possible to enter Pyrojam with multiple displays?

    Cause i wanted to create another display together with my good friend Gabriel.

     

    Yes, absolutely! Competitors are welcome to submit more than one design.

    Josué Beauregard
    Joined:May 2020
    Posts:5
    Location:Canada
    Newcomer
    Likes:

    I watched the finalists videos from last year and it might be complicated for doing this since I think the prices from the products got up this year.

    Pyro_100150000
    Joined:Jul 2022
    Posts:2
    Location:Berlin, Land Berlin, Germany
    Newcomer
    Likes:

    So if I am correct – 60mm shells will be fired from singleshot positions, correct? As they do not reach the 2.5″ caliber

    DrewFinale
    Joined:Dec 2019
    Posts:401
    Location:United States
    Silver
    Likes:

     

    So if I am correct – 60mm shells will be fired from singleshot positions, correct? As they do not reach the 2.5″ caliber

     

    Welcome to the Finale 3D forum!

     

    Yes, the 60mm shells can be fired from the “Front” positions (F-01…F-19). Whenever there is doubt, the effect “Subtype” is the best way to tell which position an effect can be fired from. As you can see in the screenshot below, the Subtype for the 60mm shells is “SS Shell”. By referencing the position layout chart on the competition page, you can see that this Subtype can be fired from “Front” row of positions.

     

     

     

     

    P.S. Don’t forget to head over to your My Profile and customize your Display Name and Profile Picture!

    Walker Pyrotechnics
    Joined:Dec 2021
    Posts:32
    Location:Vicksburg, MI
    Charcoal
    Likes:

    Quick Clarification: Flame Bursts/air bursts and Gerbs Positions row P or F (1st or second row?) Also, Ground Salutes: I’m assuming they are 2nd row?

    DrewFinale
    Joined:Dec 2019
    Posts:401
    Location:United States
    Silver
    Likes:

     

    Quick Clarification: Flame Bursts/air bursts and Gerbs Positions row P or F (1st or second row?) Also, Ground Salutes: I’m assuming they are 2nd row?

     

    Whenever you have any doubt about which position to use for an effect, just look at the “Subtype” column for the effect in the PyroJam catalog, then refer to the position layout chart on the competition page.

     

    As an example, take a look at the screenshot below – the Subtype for the ground salute is “Ground”, which goes into Row ➋, “Front” (positions F-01…F-19).

     

     

    nicola fici
    Joined:Oct 2019
    Posts:9
    Location:Italy
    Newcomer
    Likes:

    excuse my doubt, can shells 2.5 to 6 be angled back and forth? If so, what would be the maximum angle allowed?

    DrewFinale
    Joined:Dec 2019
    Posts:401
    Location:United States
    Silver
    Likes:

     

    excuse my doubt, can shells 2.5 to 6 be angled back and forth? If so, what would be the maximum angle allowed?

     

    Hi Nicola, thanks for your question. No, shells may not be angled toward or away from the audience. Shells may only be angled left or right.

    Smitchbomb
    Joined:May 2019
    Posts:4
    Location:Canada
    Newcomer
    Likes:

    In my excitement of making a show and wanting to get it in I recently noticed I made a few position errors but have already submitted the show…can i resubmit the fixed show?

    DrewFinale
    Joined:Dec 2019
    Posts:401
    Location:United States
    Silver
    Likes: 1

     

    In my excitement of making a show and wanting to get it in I recently noticed I made a few position errors but have already submitted the show…can i resubmit the fixed show?

     

    Great question – yes, you can resubmit any time up to the March 4th submission deadline. When you revised your show, please add a note like, “(Resubmission)” to the show title so we know the submission is a revision, not a 2nd entry.

    nicola fici
    Joined:Oct 2019
    Posts:9
    Location:Italy
    Newcomer
    Likes:

     

     

     

    Hi Nicola, thanks for your question. No, shells may not be angled toward or away from the audience. Shells may only be angled left or right.

     

    thanks drew..

    nicola fici
    Joined:Oct 2019
    Posts:9
    Location:Italy
    Newcomer
    Likes:

    I’m sorry drew, another question concerning the wheels, do I have to insert a fountain to make it work?

    DrewFinale
    Joined:Dec 2019
    Posts:401
    Location:United States
    Silver
    Likes:

    Hi nicola fici, you should be able to select a position, click on the wheel effect, and the wheel should be added to your show. If it’s not working for you, please reply with a screenshot or photo of the problem.

    nicola fici
    Joined:Oct 2019
    Posts:9
    Location:Italy
    Newcomer
    Likes:

    hi DrewFinale ,I managed to understand why they didn’t work, the only thing is that you don’t see the quantities used.

    DrewFinale
    Joined:Dec 2019
    Posts:401
    Location:United States
    Silver
    Likes:

    Hi nicola fici, the set piece and moving wheel effects are made possible using a “macro”. A macro allows effects to be animated and have a distance offset from the position. The downside is that macros will not show a ‘Used’ quantity. You’re not doing anything wrong; this is just a limitation of the macro functionality. When you use a macro, the price is being added to your show, but you will need to keep track of the quantity manually to make sure you don’t exceed the available quantity.

    nicola fici
    Joined:Oct 2019
    Posts:9
    Location:Italy
    Newcomer
    Likes:

     

    Hi nicola fici, the set piece and moving wheel effects are made possible using a “macro”. A macro allows effects to be animated and have a distance offset from the position. The downside is that macros will not show a ‘Used’ quantity. You’re not doing anything wrong; this is just a limitation of the macro functionality. When you use a macro, the price is being added to your show, but you will need to keep track of the quantity manually to make sure you don’t exceed the available quantity.

    thanks drew, you were very clear.

     

Viewing 20 posts - 21 through 40 (of 118 total)

Please login to reply to this topic.